• Grief & Bereavement Counseling

    Grief & Bereavement Counseling

    Bereavement and grief aren’t light-hearted topics. Bereavement refers to the process of recovering from the death of a loved one, and grief is a reaction for any form of loss. Both encompass a wide range of emotions such as fear, anger and deep, deep sadness.

    The five stages of grief are:

    • denial
    • anger
    • bargaining
    • depression
    • acceptance

    The process of adapting to a loss can dramatically change from person to person, depending on his or her background, beliefs, relationship to the person who’s passed, and other factors.

    Common symptoms of grief can be physical, emotional or social.

    A few common symptoms in these categories are:


    • Crying and sighing
    • Headaches
    • Loss of appetite
    • Difficulty sleeping
    • Weakness
    • Fatigue


    • Feelings of sadness and yearning
    • Feelings of worry or anger
    • Feelings of frustration or guilt


    • Feeling detached from others
    • Self-isolation from social contact
    • Behaving in ways that are not normal for you

    Every grieving experience is different. A person may be able to continue their day-to-day routine after one loss, yet not be able to get out of bed after the loss of someone else. Whatever your personal symptoms are, grief and bereavement counseling have been proven to help.

    If you are experiencing grief-related thoughts, behaviors, or feelings that are distressing, please call to make an appointment.

    Mourner’s Bill of Rights by Alan D. Wolfelt, Ph.D

    1. You have the right to experience your own unique grief
    2. You have the right to talk about your grief and your loved one
    3. You have the right to feel a wide range of emotions
    4. You have the right to make use of a ritual that is comforting to you
    5. You have the right to listen to your body and be tolerant of your physical and emotional limits
    6. You have the right to let the tears flow
    7. You have the right not to be rushed through your grief
    8. You have the right to search for meaning
    9. You have the right to your memories
    10. You have the right to move towards finding personal healing from grief